Notifications
Clear all

Associate Director/Director

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@dixonc)
Topic starter  

Really happy to have found this forum.  I participated in the old Science Careers forum and got much helpful advise there.  So glad to be here and hope to get some good advise on possible career moves.

So I've worked in the industry for some 4 years now, at a small biotech.  I been very successful so far, and been recently approached by recruiters with AD level positions.  I'm now a lead scientist with 5 direct reports.  Still doing some lab work and would like to do less (or none).  Would an AD or Director position be a step up?  Are these good jobs?  What professional growth opportunities would such position offer?

Would also appreciate any insight into the job--the descriptions that I have are very general (e.g. report to VP, communicate with stakeholders) and hard to figure out what actual responsibilities and expectations may be.

Thanks in advance!

Dick Woodward
(@dick-woodward)
Member Registered

Associate director may be a step up in title, but until you find out what the responsibilities are, it may well be a lateral move in terms of responsibilities. You need to find out how many direct reports you will have and what the responsibiulities of the position are.

ReplyQuote
(@dixonc)
Topic starter  

Wouldn't a step up in title (and compensation) be a good thing in and on itself?  My goal here is to get more into a senior management role, but more of a build and grow type than some 3-year gig.

ReplyQuote
Dick Woodward
(@dick-woodward)
Member Registered